Tank Journal Archive

jart

Apr 10, 2015
A Sad Day...
Today I farewelled the two oldest members of my tank crew, a pair of ocellaris clown fish I bought from a fellow reefer once my original tank had cycled. They were with me for about 1.5 years. Gutted.

How did this happen? I am not 100% sure what happened, but here is the story...

New tank is going well. Pretty much all set up now (just need some macro for the fuge), nitrates hovering around 5ppm and trying to wait patiently for the algae stages of the cycle. Moved across the start of a small cleanup crew as the first signs of algae appeared a few days ago - 5 small turbo snails, a few tiny starfish.

My previous tank, a 2ft cube, housed a small selection of LPS and softies, plus 5 fish and my CBS. I have been battling a nuisance algae for a few months that I now think is some type of bryopsis --> decision made to turn the LR in my DT into base rock (via bleach, vinegar and cooking) before moving to the new tank. Didn't want to bring any algae, if possible, across on the base of any of the corals, so decision made to setup a small BB tank to better be able to look for said algae. Also would eventually double as a QT tank as I increased fish stocking.

So a spare 2 x 1 x 1ft tank was pressed into service - setup with NSW, LED light, heater and powerhead, plus one piece of cycled LR. Waited for it to come up to temp. Tested and water parameters fine, as expected. Moved across corals. All good. Now had 3 tanks running the house!

Then made a decision to move my fish across to the new tank so that I could remove the LR I wanted to nuke in my old tank. Used the transfer method that I have successfully used in the past. Fill bag with tank water, catch fish, place bag floating in new tank to acclimate temp, every 15 min add a little new tank water to the bag to gradually transition fish. After roughly 2 hours, catch and release fish into new tank.