Tank Journal Archive

ajkdark

Aug 17, 2014
Ajk's Red Sea Max S500
Hello all,

I am not new to this hobby, but fairly new to this forum. I have been keeping marine fish for approximately 5 years in a sumpless three foot tank. Which I started, to see if I could keep a marine tank.

As the addiction continued, I decided to upgrade this year.

About the aquarium......

It is a Red Sea Max S500, total volume is 500 litres (450 display and 50 sump).

I wanted to recreate a small reef in my family room, we are avid SCUBA divers and wanted to bring the coral reef into our home.

The tank is stock Red Sea, with stock Red Sea Reef Spec tubes (10 by 54 watt). 5 daylight and 5 actinic. Photo Period is 11:30 am the first lights turn on, 12 pm the complete lighting system is on and 9 pm the main bank turns off and the centre bank off at 9:30 pm. Moonlights run whilst all lights are off.
Using the stock Red Sea CSkim, which I have found to be not troublesome at all. Easy to tune and it is plumbed into a 5 litre plastic jerry can. Which reduces the amount of dismantling required to clean the built in collection cup.
Chiller heater is a Teco TC15 chiller/heater.
Using Seachem Matrix carbon and Purigen in the media rack. And a Two little fishies 150 phosban reactor with Phosban, supplied by a small Eheim pump in the sump. As well as two Marine Pure Plates.
Rock was approximately 45 kg of Caribsea South Seas Base rock. No live rock used. And Caribsea Fiji Pink live sand.
One Ecotech MP40Wes as an additional pump with battery back up.
Kamoer 4 channel dosing pump mounted on a custom rack, under the power centre. Only using three channels, to dose Red Sea reef foundation Ca, KH and Mg.
Aquarium has been seeded for just over 6 months. Slowly stocked over a 5 month period. All corals and fish looking good.
I perform 25 litre water changes one a week, using Red Sea Coral Pro salt.

Tank parameters are as follows.
Salinity 1.026 (Red Sea Refractometer)