Reef Discussion

Ben Daley

/dev/null
Dec 23, 2016
Melbourne
Curing Live Rock (and Failing)
Last week I received 35kg of fresh LR and set it up in a 120L tub to cure.
I've never done this before and think I may have killed it :(
  • First day, did not smell bad (like low-tide with a slight hint of decay)
  • Second day, rotten egg smell, removed about a cup of sponges that I had missed from the previous day
  • Third day the external temp hit 40℃. I expect the water temp reached 30-32℃+. TERRIBLE smell. Loads of worms floating about. Dead oysters. Large tunicate appears alive.
  • Fourth day, another 40℃. Equally bad smell. Black water
  • Today, black water and black/grey rocks, dead tunicate. No signs of any worms or other inverts. Slightly better smell, but still foul. Some coralline appears to be hanging in there.
I don't have a skimmer to run on the tub so intended to compensate by performing more water changes.
I have performed a 100% WC every day given the stench. The rock is exposed to air for 10 or so mins while doing the WC, is this making things worse?

I fear that missing some of the sponges on the first day really fouled the water and caused a lot more die-off... then the hot weather finished the job.

Is any of this normal?
Is this rock dead or will things still grow out once the cure is done?

Savage Henry

Feb 2, 2015
Well, if you wanted to ensure any pests present have died then I'd say you are doing a pretty good job!

Cured rock is a broad spectrum. Some people go to extraordinary lengths to ensure there is nothing living in their live rock, others are more than happy to see what hitch hikers they get and keep them alive. I got lucky with mine and still have alive crabs, sea urchins and a goby that came from live rock I had delivered over four years ago.