Tank Journal Archive

bimbo

Oct 7, 2014
Newcastle
From The Beginning
Introduction:
I have been keeping fish for as long as I can remember and for a few years kept a few small (2 and 2.5foot) coral tanks. I really enjoyed watching them but things got in the way and they got closed down. For many years I had an empty 5x2x2 tank that followed me around to may houses but as we were renting I didn't really want to set it up and then have to move it etc. So it sat empty in my garage. When we bought our current house I decided that we either have to set it up somewhere or get rid of it. Problem was that there wasn't really anywhere suitable in the house to put it :wall: . Solution - make space :cheers:
System Objectives:
I would like the tank to have real POP and draw you in, makes you look closer and notice all the cool little critters and corals in there.
Have SPS thrive in both colour and growth.
Would also like to reduce ongoing costs through the use of energy efficient equipment.
System Type:
SPS dominant reef with reasonable fish load.
Display System:
Strike up Date:
under construction
Display Tank:
5x2x2 - float glass right hand corner weir
40mm emergency drain and 25mm syphon
Display Lighting:
Reef Breeders Photon48 LED 215W at 100% 115W at 50%
Stand:
In-wall ish enclosed cabinet all DIY
Hood:
Enclosed
Sump:
18inch cube
Refugium:
18 inch cube
Refugium Lighting:
NA - Cryptic
Support systems:
System Water:
NSW - collected Swansea channel
Display Water circulation:
Jebao 2 x WP40 - 40W each
Return Pump:Sump return pump.
Waveline dc-6000 55W
Skimmer:
JNS ConeS CO3
Evaporation Top Up:
Pacific Sun Kore 5th ATO
40Kg base/dead rock
2kg live cured rock
20kg 2mm Coral Sand
10kg 3mm Coral Sand
Chemical Support:
Pacific Sun Kore 5th 5 head doser
Calcium Addition:
Randys Recipe 1
Alkilinity Addition:
Randys Recipe 1
Other Chemical Maintenance:
Current Water Chemistry:

Nitrates: 0
Phosphates: 0.03ppm
Alkalinity: 8.0dkh
Calcium: 420ppm
Salinity / Specific Gravity: 1.025