Reef Discussion

potatocouch

Jan 16, 2014
Sydney
Gyre - How?
As some of you may know, I'm in the market for new wavemaker and currently comparing 2x RW8 vs Gyre XF130.

The thing that I failed to understand, how does Gyre technology forces flow to rotate/bounce around the tank ...

If I take top left illustration, when flow is bounced and goes right, it should be weaker flow then when bounced again, logically it won't continue ...

@Tom H what's your observation so far?

as3.amazonaws.com_3reef_Images_radar_maxspect_gyre_flow.jpg

Mattres

May 26, 2015
Adelaide
I'm not an expert in fluid dynamics but I beleive its from the broad flow.
All power heads and such will make flow around the tank, if u place a vortech/tunze etc in a corner the flow will start just like those illustrations but the smaller "jet" stream of the water will disapate more than the broader flow of the gyre.
The way the gyre draws the water is also different, it pulls water in from kinda the opposite direction to which it pushes it, helping create that circular flow, or the "gyre" Where a propeller pump usually draws from every direction.

You'll notice in those illustrations as well they have gyres covering the whole length of the glass pane they wish to create the water movement on.

Tom H

Jan 3, 2016
Gisborne
I think @Mattres has nailed it. The gyre flow is created by the broad fan of water pushed by the impeller, and also by having a wide intake, pulling the water around the tank. My observations of the 130 in a 2' cube are that the flow is not nearly so perfect as the illustration suggests, I think you would need 2 gyres stacked on top of each other to get that perfect gyre flow. In my tank I can see the main fan of water that flows around the tank, and just outside the fan there are vortices that swirl around and other sections where the flow is actually reversed completely. The good thing is there are no dead spots.