Reef Discussion

Danield

Dec 9, 2013
Help Needed With Reactor Media.
Hi everyone.

I have a nano tank that's 5 months old and is doing well. I water test weekly and have good parameters although my alkalinity has fluctuated a bit recently which I have been controlling with seachem alk liquid. I run mostly LPS with some SPS

My tanks doing great and I use RO water but I continue to have what looks like a diatom bloom on the substrate and lower glass. I do 10% water changes weekly and try to vac up as much as I can. The tank is 80 litres and I run a good skimmer have good water flow and Ive been running Phosguard in a bag for a few months now with low pgos levels (0.03-0.05 ish). I have a birdsnest coral which looks healthy but is brown which I think might be due to high organics ??

The tank has 3 rear compartments (its a aqua medic blenny) the centre compartment is lower flow as the outlet from the skimmer passes into here through a media basket which I use carbon and floss to trap small particles.

I have just purchased a small media reactor to use in this centre sump instead of the media basket and have been scratching my head about what media to use.

Here are my options ( I think)
1. Run carbon and some phos guard (maybe sechem sea gel)

2. Run Purigen or purigen/carbon

3. Run Bio Pellets

Im concerned about bio pellets as my nitrates are not high (7 -10ppm usually) and Ive heard they can cause tank crashes through oxy obsorption etc

Really what I want is something to run to remove organic waste/control algae/diatom. (I know they are different things)
Can I run a mixture of media ???

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

holly

Jul 10, 2013
Melbourne
I would go biopellets and start very slowly with them, and have your skimmer on 12 hours a day or less. What do you feed and how often? Also, what is your sand and do you stir it up once a week?