Tank Journal Archive

DanUk

Feb 11, 2016
Liverpool
Hi Everybody This Is My Little Part Of The Ocean
image.jpg
Hi everybody, just joined the reefuge was advised it a very friendly and welcoming place I'm from the UK my name is Dan. I have Been keeping marine for around 4 months now , started with a 53L which got on top of me with parameters so I upgraded to a Red Sea reefer 170. Tank is around a month old. Got lots of hair algae which is starting to die back after adding a phosphate reactor.

As I thought everything was going good I added a small coral beauty in with my 2 clowns who were doing great. Coral beauty got ich within a day of being added and sadly died. Clowns looked fine eating like pigs and swimming healthy. Next day I noticed white spots all over clowns back and fins, I panicked and looked for best solution. I picked up some poly lab medic to try help the problem I was having. Added first dose after lights out and of to bed I went.

Woke up next morning to my male clown dead, he didn't pull through. My female clown looks to be clear for now but I am still treating with poly lab.

My next step I'm looking at is to go fallow for 72days and treat my clown in a QT tank with chloroquine ( was advised to use this as same affect as copper) and then hold him in QT tank until fallow period is over.

Here's some pics of my tank as of now, look forward to sharing my reefing experience with everybody.

Dan

Attachments

MagicJ

Jul 11, 2011
Hobart, Tasmania
Hi @DanUk :welcome

It's good to have you here from the other side of the world ...

Clowns are normally fairly hardy and should have been able to withstand the initial whitespot outbreak - were they healthy prior to this episode?. I am not convinced that medic does much in this situation but hopefully you will be able to eliminate it from your DT.

Last edited:

DanUk

Feb 11, 2016
Liverpool
Hi @DanUk :welcome

It's good to have you here from the other side of the world ...