Tank Journal Archive

holly

Jul 10, 2013
Melbourne
Holly's long-suffering budget 3ft
I have had this tank for about 8 years.

I've moved house with it 5 times - not a great way to establish and keep the lovely critters that build up over the years. The first few times I moved I lost a lot of my corals and fish - I've gotten a lot better at it but since I started studying I have not had the cash to replenish the losses. I've changed tanks once, the old one looked like crap but had wider pipes for better tank turnover. I had a UV light filter on at one stage - I'm leaning toward re-attaching it as the tank was fabulous when it was on - now not so much.

I've been a full time uni student for the last 5 years - the amount of effort put into this tank has fluctuated with needs for study and procrastination and money (always a problem). I've currently been on "holidays" for a month and have finally got around to water changes and testing and other maintenance tasks that have been put off for about 5 months (I know, bad.).

The details:
  • DT 92cm x 45cm x 45cm, on a DIY pine stand.
  • Sump 92cmL x 36cmW x 45cmH
  • Collective volume minus sand, rock and coral = @ 250 litres
  • The cover in front is a removable frame covered in black out curtain material and material.
  • Lighting is a generic 125W LED blue/white thing from the reef shop.
  • fine coral sand - light covering in top
  • DSB in sump of fine coral sand (about 25cms deep) perhaps overly deep.
  • No idea how much live rock, too much.
  • Reef octopus skimmer (model 150 I think, was about $350)
  • Pond pump return
  • Generic in tank duel head pump
  • 1 x 150w, 1 x 200w aquaone/jager heaters
  • Carbon bag in the sump
The Lifeforms (forgive the common terms, not yet back up to speed on the proper words):
I feed mysis/prawn/bloodworms every other day targeted on the corals, the fish sweep up the left overs, and other days tiny marine pellet food.
  • A pair of tomato clowns (girl +boy I'm pretty sure)