Reef Discussion

chrisg_75

May 28, 2013
Newcastle
How To Dose ...... ?
Ok,

So started dosing not too long ago so total newby to this.

I have 80L AIO with three part sump section across back. I have been dosing the following recently which pretty much is holding results as they are.
20ml Alkalinity
5ml Calcium
5ml Magnesium

I was wanting to raise all levels slightly so have raise to the following
25ml Alkalinity
8ml Calcium
8ml Magnesium.

I am basically using a syringe one supplement at a time and squirting into the 1st section of the sump area in the back then get syringe out the next supplement and put in etc.

Is there anything more I need to be careful off and is this the right way to do it (considering I don't have a dosing pump at this stage). I know I have to keep an eye on qty of dosing to test levels etc but anything else or other suggestions ?

cheers

chrisg_75

May 28, 2013
Newcastle
Thanks Agent M. Interesting such a tank with filtration skimmer etc.

Anyone else have any help on dosing ? ie ok just to dose all three together into the same section using same syringe one after another ? etc or any other comments ?

Htu08

Nov 4, 2013
I'd try and pump it into different sump sections just because by pumping it into 1 section, you have elevated levels in that section, leading to increased precipitation.
Unless of course you space it out. If you dose say, the alk in hte morning, the calc after work and hte magnesium before bed, i dont see a problem at all.

chrisg_75

May 28, 2013
Newcastle
hmm ok
have been doing all three one after the other pretty much into the first section.

What do you mean by increased precipitation.?

Htu08

Nov 4, 2013
Good article to read: http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2002-04/rhf/feature/

From the man himself:
Calcium and carbonate (a component of alkalinity) can precipitate from the water column if the product of the concentration of each of them rises too high.