Reef Discussion

MagicJ

Jul 11, 2011
Hobart, Tasmania
Jebao Dc 12000 Pumps - Any Rust Issues?
I am about to install my new return pump - I actually purchased it over a year ago but haven't got around to using it :rolleyes

I noticed some screws on the housing and a circlip on the front of the impeller - has anyone had any issue with these rusting?

DC12000-2jpg.jpg

DC12000-1.jpg

Buddy

Mar 13, 2012
I have been running one for a couple of years now. Didn't have any rust the last time I gave it a clean a month or so ago.

Sean81

Nov 11, 2015
Sydney, South
Nice price, i may get a dc3000 as a backup/spare for my tunze
I have a DCT 3000 and when I installed it it had a very annoying whine to it. I can hear it in nearly all my rooms. I contacted fish street and they said the DCT wasn't the silent one and is normal. I ended up putting the aqua one back in. Anyone else had this?

Buddy

Mar 13, 2012
I have a DCT 3000 and when I installed it it had a very annoying whine to it. I can hear it in nearly all my rooms. I contacted fish street and they said the DCT wasn't the silent one and is normal. I ended up putting the aqua one back in. Anyone else had this?
Doesn't sound right to me. My 12000 starts making a little noise near full power. My 6000 in my skimmer is very quiet on full power.

daveH

Team Leader
Nov 24, 2011
Brisbane Northside
I was having a whining noise problem with my 6000DCT and bit the bullet and ordered the 7000DCS, which I was assured by Fish Street to be silent. Keeping the DCT as a backup.
The 7000DCS is just as loud. It's running at about 3/4 speed and the whining can be heard 2 rooms away.
This isn't going to be any good when I move to the apartment soon. The wife will have my guts for garters.
I wish the pump was as quiet as the one in their Coral Box Skimmer, it's dead silent.
So I'm looking around for something else for the return pump - really don't feel like forking out for the Tunze Silent, but may have to.

daveH

Team Leader
Nov 24, 2011