Reef Discussion

Jimsim

Nov 9, 2013
NEW SOUTH WALES
Kh And Ph Low
Hi guys just a question before bed, my PH is 8 and Kh is 7, I set up a manual dosing pump, some searchem reef builder (powder form) to raise the Kh up to about 9, also think that would raise the Ph up to about 8.4, ive got a 4x2x2 with sump so roughly 450L of water, now here is the question, I'm not good at maths so I need some feedback on how I did it and if it's wrong to ramp up the concentration.

Atm i have a 1L container with airline/screw. As a dosing pump =]

I put 4 teaspoons in the 1L as it is 1teaspoon for every 250ml, now i know it says on the back of the product half a teaspoon per 150L, so that means I've added too much! 1200L worth of dosing liquid into the 1L container,i was supposed to put 1 and a half tea spoons for my tank hehe, that's 2 and a half more of the dosing recommendation, I've timed it to 1 drop every 3minutes so its 1ml every hour. 24mls a day, will that cause a huge swing with a higher concentration of liquid I'm dosing since Ive put more powder and less RO water?

Like I can make a new batch, and re-time the whole thing, I just want to know will it effect anything with just 24ml of a higher concentrated mixture dosed on a daily basis until I have reached my goal of 9 kH and if Ph raises to 8.4 then no need to add my Ph buffer.

What other stuff am I doing to my tank? Just 1.5ml of Bright-wells Nano Code A and B each time I add RO water or SW, recently purchased Red sea Foundation A B C bottles which I have added on Tues C 10ml, Wens B 10ml, Thurs C 10ml, Sat Red Sea NO3PO4 5ml. A/B/C founations was only added 1 time last week and this week I may skip it.
Nitrates 5ppm - Nitrite 0 - Ammonia 0 - Mg 1320 - Phos .15ppm - Cal 420 ppm - Temp 24.6C - Salinity 1.024 (stopping RO and more SW for a few days) 20L WC every 2 days Skimmer Cup cleaned every 2-3 days. So I can bring it up to 1.026sg.