Reef Discussion

potatocouch

Jan 16, 2014
Sydney
Magnifica In 2ft
The hobby bites back and wanting to add Magnifica nem to a 2 foot CADE cube stocked with few Euphyillia likes Frogspawn, Torch, Zoanthids, Ric and morphs.

Wise idea, OK idea or bad idea?

aupload.wikimedia.org_wikipedia_commons_thumb_1_13_Amphiprion_5d8fc653c57830b33b54523479fb33a9.jpg

MagicJ

Jul 11, 2011
Hobart, Tasmania
I have not kept this species so I have no direct experience but ...

they can grow in excess of 50cm and have a strong sting - in a tank your size you will be unlikely to be able to keep other corals, especially if it started to move around. You would also need to ensure that it couldn't get sucked into any of your powerheads.

Savage Henry

Feb 2, 2015
If you got rid of all the coral and just had adequate live rock (to support the anemone and clowns), a single big anemone would make a great display in the two footer.

Why not try first with a really nice bta?

I'm envious of basic set ups like having only a few, but large corals rather than little bits and pieces here and there. As my hammers and hydnophoria have grown I have thought about getting rid of my other smaller corals and just having save five corals. Imagine the reduced chemical warfare! Problem is I'm starting to get a lot of lower areas of my tank that are shadowed by the higher placed hammers and hydnophoria.

A centred big anemone sitting over a plateau of live rock would look great!

potatocouch

Jan 16, 2014
Sydney
@Savage Henry with budget as low as < $300, I'm tempted in getting a small RBTA or a huge Magnifica.

Still considering at the moment which of the two, I should be ordering.

With such low budget, I'll be trading size to colour, with RBTA, small but striking colour or Magnifica, big but less striking colour.

lukusis

Sep 3, 2014
I had 5 green BTA's (started with just one) in a 2ft. Plenty of Hammers/acans/frogspawn/zoa's, all fine :)

suta42

Aug 13, 2011
sydney