New To Reefing

Dean Lovett

Apr 11, 2015
Penrith
New Setup Pointers And Advice!
Hey All!

My name is Dean, and I am a long term freshwater fish keeper but I am about the make the, or what seems to be, giant leap!

So a bit about me, I'm a 20 year old from Australia, I graduated University last year with a Bachelor of Science with a major in Pharmacology. Currently I work full-time as a patent analyst, in which I help develop patent landscape reports for generic and innovator pharmaceutical companies.

Since I was 13 I have kept fresh water fish - i started with swordtails and guppies and moved then to angelfish and some natives then up to cichlids. I then began to breed Kribensis and supply them to local fish shops in my area.

THEN I took a very premature leap and began setting up a 44L marine tank. I had about 6kg of live rock and a standard coral ground cover. I had the whole set up (filter and heater and LED lights and also cooling fans) EXCEPT a protein skimmer.

I let the tank cycle for about 3 weeks and I then purchased, after testing the water - an obligatory Clown Fish and then a few weeks later a Goby. I also purchased a few weeks later, a soft coral....

Things were going okay but then the coral began to swell up and break up over a few days and I came home from school one day and everything was dead.... (I have a suspicion it was the old heater I may have been using)

BUT

I am back and I am much more patient and I earn more money so I will be able to afford much more reliable equipment. However, I want to make a conscious effort to ensure that I do it properly this time - proper precautions.

So, I will be purchasing a micro set up, I believe it is the 34L Ocean Free tank which has back filtration. And thats it...