Reef Discussion

dazzamx

Feb 24, 2015
New Tank
AWESOME.
after being in the new house for 2 years now, the wife has said I can put a small reef tank in the house.
I have some awesome corals up in the shed frag tank and its a shame not to have them on show.
The two tanks I'm looking at are the CADE HL800 and the Red Sea Reefer 250.
What's everyone's take on these tanks, there is not much difference in the price.
Ann I think the sump in the Cade may be a little more usable.
All feedback appreciate.

Wrangy

May 7, 2013
Research
Fo sho go the CADE lol they both have their positives and their negatives but at the end of the day I adore my CADE and would happily get another one! (That being said I've had no experience with the reefer's).

In all honesty they're both brilliant tanks made by well known companies that produce great products so go with whatever you'd prefer and will earn you more points with the wifey ;) haha

Cb2

Mar 15, 2014
Both great quality tanks. You're right about the reefer sump not as usable as the cade sump. Positives I like about the reefer is the height, extra space in the cabinet to store other reefing equipment, selection of cabinet colour and the silent plumbing.

Savage Henry

Feb 2, 2015
You've really got to go view them set up in a shop and see which one you like more.

I recall the Reefer has black silicon? The black silicon is a very different look from the opaque clear silicon. I had a Juwel tank with the black silicon and I really liked it.

I'd really think about the width of the Reefer and whether you want that extra 10cm the CADE gives.

Sam Parker

May 6, 2013
Geelong
+1 for go and look at them. Marketing are very good at taking pictures...

Keep in mind a custom build too, get exactly what you want the first time that way ;)

dazzamx

Feb 24, 2015
Would love to look at them both, but no one carries Cade tanks up here in Cairns.
Have had a look at the reefer 170 as it's the only one on Display around here.