Off-Topic

eventingpony

Jun 25, 2012
New to reef tanks - from Western NSW
Hi Everyone!

My name is Elise, and I am 23 years old - I currently work as a Veterinarian in Dubbo NSW. I have always loved salt water aquariums and have kept quite a few different freshwater aquariums over the years. I have never had the time or money to get started in saltwater fish and reefs, but lately have been really missing not having a tank!

Well today I bought a tank after getting a great discount...
I now have a gorgeous Aqua One - Aquience 1200 rt in black. Dimensions: 120 x 45 x 66cm Litres: 300

It came with a Aqua One 1250 Series II canister filter - is this something that can be made useful for a saltwater tank? Can alterations be made, or do I need to look for a different filter?

It also came with a Aqua One 300W thermosafe heater. I will also need to do more research into heating requirements.
It also comes with 4 x fluro lights - in the shop two were blue and two were pink? Will get more details of these when the tank gets here, but I am guessing I will need to buy a different lighting system.

But at least this is a start. I am very new to these forums, so have a lot of reading to do. I am now going to let this tank sit empty while I find out how to start off my tank the right way. I will have to look for aquarium suppliers, most likely in sydney so I can purchase my substrate, first piece of live rock and start getting things ready to go. :)

Any hints and tips for where to start looking for good aquarium suppliers for people like me out in the middle of the state would be more than appreciated. Also hope to make some friends and see some gorgeous tanks on here!

- Elise

eventingpony

Jun 25, 2012
Are you saying I might be a little crazy too?

Tank was supposed to be delivered today, will have to chase it up!