Reef Discussion

mscott

Jan 2, 2012
Wheelers Hill
red sea reef foundation
Hey guys i baught myself one of these abc additive containers and was just wondering how much i shoud dose today, should i double dose to build up the ammount in the water or half dose to let it slowly build up??
cheers

mscott

Jan 2, 2012
Wheelers Hill
ph is about 7.5-8 a tad low, ammo-0 nitrate 0 nitrite 0.
As for the rest of it i dont have the test kits for as they were way too expencive, but i dare say they are much lower than they should be

tonyf

Oct 21, 2011
Bexley, Sydney
Hi, I am only new at this so take my advice with a grain of salt, but one thing that stuck with me I remember reading somewhere was "never dose anything you can't test for" kinda makes sense. So I would try and wait till you can get the test kits then at least it will be easier to to tell how much to dose, because you kinda don't want to get it wrong.
If I am correct the A,B,C is the main 3 Calc, Alk and MG and would be really hard to guess the amount.
Only my 2c worth.

NiCd

Lead Moderator
Jul 29, 2011
Sydney
Tony hit the nail on the head, go out and get yourself the reef foundations test kit to go along with it all and then dose to suit, Calcium can brought brought straight up but you will have to increase you alk at a max rate of 1dkh a day

mscott

Jan 2, 2012
Wheelers Hill
the abc+, the one i baught is Ca, Sr, KH, Mg, K and Br.
Well getting the test kits is going to take a long time. Being a student i dont realy have $120 to throw at a test kit in one day, let alone one month.
So to combine staying safe and adding the correct nutrients to the tank ill dose half as much half the time, so only 1g of the powder every fortnight, that should keep the tank stable untill i can get my hands on the test kits

NiCd

Lead Moderator
Jul 29, 2011
Sydney
just do larger water changes until you get the test kits, your likey to do more damage than good otherwise

MTG

Jul 10, 2011
Gold Coast