Tank Journal Archive

Rob

Apr 26, 2012
Robs 4' Reef
Introduction:
My background is process control & automation and it will come as no surprise that the majority of my previous tanks have had various degrees of Instrumentation / automation associated with them.

Reefing Since:
Marine 2008 FW Discus 1990

System Objectives:
The kitchen area this tank is in is quite small so I want the tank cabinet to look as small as possible. A major goal of this build is reliability of equipment and ease of maintenance.

Type of reef: Mixed reef with Small fish load

Stand:
DIY custom built, MDF veneer, edges sealed prior to assembly and will have a silicon bead run around any edge where water may collect on a spill. The internal cabinet sump area will have a secondary white laminate covering and again fully sealed. There is no plan for a steel or pine support frame and will rely on the “slab” style MDF construction to hold the weight, its only a 4’ tank. The MDF is water resistant, (not water proof). The veneer has been professionally cut and edged with a 2mm black edge strip so with the idea of creating a flat pack cabinet which will only need assembling.

Sketchup Initial Design
aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v319_rjconway_tankr4blacklightcover_1.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v319_rjconway_IMG_0217_edited_1.jpg
aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v319_rjconway_IMG_0225.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v319_rjconway_IMG_0223.jpg
aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v319_rjconway_IMG_0277_edited_1.jpg

Display System

Initial Fill Date: October 2011
Display Tank Dimensions: 1300x520x480high
Display Lighting: ATI 6x54W Power Module

Detail of the 12VDC Actuator which controls the height of the light
aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v319_rjconway_tankcomplete_3.jpg
aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v319_rjconway_IMG_0286.jpg

aimg.photobucket.com_albums_v319_rjconway_IMG_0281_edited_1.jpg

Hood or Rimless: Euro braced

Sump Design: Simple compact design due to space restrictions