Reef Discussion

Wallypops

Apr 13, 2017
Complete Beginner:wants To Build A Beananimal Overflow!
Have many questions (most if not all are very beginner questions) who out here can help?

I have a 2 foot tank and want to make this for it!

This is what I know so far, hmmm,....not very much except that this is the best overflow!

It needs three stand pipes?
I need to build a weir?
Only one needs a valve?
It'll need 3 holes for the outlets?
One for the inlet?
Need to workout the flow rate?

But then what does it all connect to in the sump?

Help!

MagicJ

Jul 11, 2011
Hobart, Tasmania

Wallypops

Apr 13, 2017
Thanks, yep I have seen this site but there's just so much out there! I have also seen this as well

RexboxNanoreef on Google Apparently I cant post links yet!

I've asked around and I guess first I want to know if I can use the exact same dimensions and equipment Bean uses or do I adapt it and make it smaller to fit and if so how much smaller?

Also After browsing around and seeing that you can buy something much bigger and better quality for the same price through gumtree, Facebook pages, and forums $654 all up I got my total 'Beginner Reef Tank setup', which only came with this 2foot tank. I have decided to go it alone, aim high and try to do things myself in order to not get ripped and also make better decisions.

So I guess my question is also what are my options is this a good idea? What is the better next step to improving my system as I want to upgrade from a hang on back filter I got that seems to be doing a great job but ultimately it would be great to have a tidy display tank I think from what I have seeing around the net

Last edited:

shaidas

Jan 30, 2017
Why get a elephant gun to shoot a rabbit :-) .. IMO while bean animal is the rolls royce, nothing wrong with a BMW. Id start with a simpler design and move to bean animal when you expand which you will :-)

slin1977

Jul 13, 2011
Sydney