Tank Journal Archive

Pierre

Aug 6, 2015
Doing My Homeworks
Hi Reefuge community.

I'm quite excited I found an Aussie forum with such a great group of members. (I've been reading this forum inside out for a while). I landed here following the tank journal from Neil (Saltwater Conversion) and who's probably the main reason of my tank choice after seeing his incredible work.

So I'm in the preparation phase where I'm studying, learning as much as possible in order to start my very first journey in the hobby. Scary and exciting.
I'm running a very simple Fluval Edge 23L tropical already, and it will be my side project when I will be started on the nano reef.

My initial set up:

- Fluvial Edge 46L
- Marine Pac 3 Pre ordered from Neil
- Nano doser for Vodka (Optional) I would use probably if needed after 6 months or so.

IMG_2508.JPG

It will be a while until I receive my MP3 from Neil, so I'm using this time to do my homework. I really liked the article "
HOW2REEF: The Supreme Guide To Setting Up A Saltwater Reef Aquarium".
My main LFS is Pet City (QLD) and they have a great staff you can ask about anything (even if they don't like the Fluvial Edge :))
I'll check out Aquarama and Reef Saver on the week end.

My LFS will have some Live Rocks ready in a week or so, and I will start to work on the landscape option then. I'm looking at 5-6kgs of it as it would be a good ratio for the size of the tank.

I plan to set up the tank with some LPS and softies as they would be easier to handle for a first timer in the hobby.
I will probably go with a pair of clowns.

I plan a mix of ASW and NSW from my LFS (I don't plan to get my own ROI system at this stage).