Reef Discussion

Nov 17, 2011
Northside Brisbane, 4017
Solid carbon dosing
Is anyone using a form of solid carbon dosing on their tanks?

I am using 500ml of NPX Bio Pellets.
TLF 550 Reactors with an Aquabee 200/1 Pump to fluidize.

Will post some images later today.

I have been using them since October 2011 and have noticed an improvement in water clarity, similar to vodka dosing.

brendore

Oct 4, 2011
Port Macquarie, NSW, AUS
I have Aquasonic Activated carbon in my internal filter, which is really just a media holder, and have seen pretty good results as far as water clarity and reduced skimate on the waters surface (I'm not using a skimmer nor have an overflow). Been using this peletised carbon for about 2 months (up to 2nd change) and my water has never looked better, even when I was using a skimmer. :)

n0rk

Aug 10, 2011
Brisbane
Solid carbon dosing is different from activated carbon ;) SCD is dosing organic carbon to a system for the purpose of multiplication of heterotrophic bacteria, whereas activated carbon is a chemical filtration agent for binding dissolved organics.

slin1977

Jul 13, 2011
Sydney
I was going to run some NP pellets in a reactor when I set my tank up, bought the reactor etc etc, to cut one long story short I started Zeovit but have always had it in my mind to run a hybrid zeo- NP method. something to tinker with in the future.

NP bio pellets seem to not have a huge following amongst Aussie reefers, they are a lot more popular OS.

rusty1

Jul 21, 2011
Gold Coast QLD
I run the Pellets, have had mixed results thus far. This has been through user error though and not realising what I was doing (Lack of research).

Seem to be on the right track but just couldnt get the PO4 down to 0 (was under .10) I am now dosing the PhosE product to knock the last bit off.

So far so good, but it is still early days. I am also starting to use some Zeo products.

deanlh

Oct 20, 2011
Gold Coast