Tank Journal Archive

Lesley

Apr 2, 2013
The Work Begins !
IMG_5302.JPG
With the new tank about 8-10 weeks away I thought I would start a new journal in the large reef tanks section :)
My first " help " question of many I assume

Over the last 12mnths we have gathered rock. Some live we left outside , people's shut downs & base from Lfs

We purchased an ibc today and need to start curing
I've never done this before as our first tank was already an established one and that moved to this tank

I have been researching and am not keen on acids , bleach or chemicals in general

It's the phosphates I need to worry about
I placed a new piece I liked in my sump and the phos went through the roof on my tank and it's now literally covered in gha
The thought of running rowa in a 3,500lt system is daunting with such high levels

So I've been told soaking in rodi that's changed weekly "should " remove through leaching ?

Is this true ?
Has anyone had success?
Do you need Heat , flow & darkness / light ?

Totally stumped

Any advice would be appreciated !

Thanks

P.s
The ibc will obviously be power washed before the process begins
IMG_5305.JPG
IMG_5306.JPG
IMG_5331.JPG

Nov 17, 2011
Northside Brisbane, 4017
I am in the process of soaking all my base rock in ro/di at the moment also.

In the past I have just soaked the rock and tested it for phosphates after 7 days. Then I change 100% of the water and test again after about a week.

The numbers will start to decline and eventually you will see very low numbers. Be patient and wait until it reads zero. It can take 4-5 weeks for the numbers to start dropping.

The only reliable way I have found for testing the phosphates is with a Hannah tester.

I do not heat or circulate the water.

After you are happy that you have zero phosphates, you could start curing the rock in saltwater. That is the next step I take that involves heating and circulating the water. Curing can also be done in the display tank if you want.

Lesley