Tank Journal Archive

ViralEntity

Feb 13, 2013
Warragul
The Mostly-All-In-One RSM130
Introduction:

Seeing as how I'm new to these parts I thought I might break the ice and post up my current tank build. I have a build journal in progress on Nano-Reef but thought it might be nice to share my experiences with the locals :wink
ai1353.photobucket.com_albums_q668_ViralEntity_MAIOv2_f621056a84c5d5c333ae7e0bc9d7c7d313589543.jpg

Reefing Since: 2011

System Objectives: To quote from my previous build journal - Before starting this project I have realised the importance of knowing clearly what I want to achieve versus working it out along the way. Simply saying "I want corals in a tank" just doesn’t cut it, and looking at some of the beautiful tanks out there, the common theme appears to be the forethought that went into getting it there. Now understanding the limitations of a AIO tank with a rear sump chamber and moderate T5 lighting means that some things are just not possible. So the plan is the following:
  • The tank will be a mixed reef to a degree (SPS/LPS)
  • The live rock will be removed or repositioned to accommodate the original plan of being able to easily clean all four sides of the tank
  • The top tier of the tank will be dedicated to easy to care for SPS colonies, a few at most in contrasting colours (to account for the lower PAR until the lights upgraded)
  • The next tier will be left for encrusting/plating corals with lower light requirements
  • The bottom tier will be for low light, soft corals /LPS, preferably non evasive but once again in low numbers to allow them to highlight each other and allow for growth
  • The sand will remain clear of corals
  • The single clown will remain ( my Wife bought it for our daughter)