Tank Journal Archive

Priscacara

Jun 19, 2012
Lara
Paddling in the pool, a newbies first tank
Introduction:
G'day I'm Les and this is my first time for keeping marines but kept a lot of freshwater over the years. I hope to be able to set up a thriving community that will be healthy, good to look at and fun.
System Type: mixed reef with initial corals being zoanthids, soft corals, lps and some nice colorful fish for movement.

Display System: Aquareef 400L all in one

Strike up Date: 31 July 2012

Display Tank: 132cmL x 52cmD x 73/88cmH

Display Lighting: 4 x 54W t5

Stand: Black wood and plastic with black steel coated frame.

Hood: Hoodless but has covers over the top.

Sump: unsure but approximately 60L

Refugium Lighting: 3w white led clip on lamp.

System Water: NSW

Display Water circulation: 2 x Sicce Voyager 8 pumps with wavesurfer controller. Each pump does 12000 lph.

Return Pump: Aquareef kit pump, 3500 lph

Skimmer: Aquaone G220

Evaporation Top Up: manual

ai927.photobucket.com_albums_ad114_priscacara_Fishpics_Marines_dry1.jpg

Priscacara

Jun 19, 2012
Lara
The tank was wet yesterday, no leaks so far so going to get 10kg of base rock tomorrow and 40kg of live on Saturday.

Overall I'm happy with the tank but a couple of things bug me a bit. The lights are awaiting replacement which is a major bummer but these things happen; the cord for the lights is ridiculously short..........didn't they think in the design phase that maybe we don't have floating power boards yet? Also in the design phase who had the bright idea to not have any backing at all to keep out a bit of the noise, its just an open space so apart from the noise the escaping light from the refugium lights up the whole room at night. There is a fair bit of noise from everything doing its job but its not over the top really just more than I had expected given there is none from any of my freshwater tanks unless I run an air pump.